The sticks

Over the last two weeks, I have been camping out for real. None of this RV hookup crap; my highest tech item in my campfire cooking kit is my Meliita one cup brewer. I have one old aluminum skillet, a saucepan, and a battered old metal coffeepot that lacks a lid. Oh, and I have a couple of forks, knives and spoons. I decided against using the folding grill as I need to use a lot more wood with that than just putting the container right into the coals.

It was an intoxicating experience. When I arrived at the camp, the buds were just beginning to crack on the trees. By the time I left 12 days later there were so many different shades of intense green that changed day to day. I found myself at peace and happy for the first time in years. I’ve been through a lot in the last few years; divorce, foreclosure, the onset of serious mental illness (suicidal), and then, as if my life weren’t already interesting enough I started having balance and grip problems and was diagnosed with a brain tumor.

I’ve been homeless for seven months plus now, and I have to say that I feel it suits me. I get Social Security, and I am free to travel when and where I want. I realize that a lot of society sees my current way of life as dysfunctional, but I am kind of digging it! The camping trip was so good that I hope to do it again before the heat and crowds out for summer vacation arrive.

I stayed at High Island Creek Sibley County Park in Minnesota, which has a small campground on the lip of a huge ravine cut  by the creek, which runs to the Minnesota River. The place was deserted the whole time except the weekend when the horse people arrive in their trailers, which felt a little like having the circus come to town. Those mornings though, when I awoke with the the sun to the sounds of birds and nothing else, were important to my healing. Meandering through the woods locating the wildflowers and taking pictures filled the hours when I wasn’t providing fuel for my cook fires, making the fires, cooking, eating, cleaning up…and all that felt good too. Providing for myself simply was very satisfying. Some of the pix will be used as subjects for drawings and paintings.

I wanted to stay a few more days, but the weather turned very windy and wet.

Leave a Reply

